Bayer CropScience Honors

Sugarbeet Growers

Published in the May 2009 Issue Published online: May 03, 2009
Viewed 886 time(s)

Research Triangle Park, N.C. – Bayer CropScience has donated $2,000 to industry internships and scholarship programs in the names of six sugarbeet growers. At the American Sugarbeet Growers Association (ASGA) annual meeting in San Diego, Calif., the growers were selected from a drawing sponsored by Bayer CropScience. The winning growers had the opportunity to choose which industry organization they would like to show their support to through the donations made by Bayer CropScience. Each winner also received a Poncho Beta embroidered The North Face jacket as appreciation.

The winning sugarbeet growers were David Blach, Yuma, Colo.; Mark Flegenheimer, Bay City, Mich.; Kenneth Horsch, Aberdeen, Idaho; Terry Kayko, Fairview, Mont.; Robin McGinais, Caldwell, Idaho and Gary Stricker, Hardin, Mont.

The winners requested that $1,500 go to the ASGA Bill Cleavinger Internship Program. This program is named in honor of the late Texas grower who served the industry for more than 30 years on various sugarbeet grower boards and as a spokesman for the ASGA association.

In the names of Robin McGinais and David Blach, Bayer CropScience donated $250 each to the Snake River Co-Op (Idaho) and Colorado Sugarbeet Growers Association (Colorado) scholarship programs. The $2,000 Bayer CropScience donation at the ASGA annual conference marks the 6th year of contributions to the internship program or sugar company scholarship programs.