News from House Agriculture Committee

Published online: Jun 06, 2007 AgPress
WASHINGTON, D.C. - The House Agriculture Subcommittee on Specialty Crops, Rural Development, and Foreign Agriculture approved proposals for the Farm Bill sections under its jurisdiction. Congressman Mike McIntyre of North Carolina is the Chairman of the Subcommittee. The Subcommittee approved by voice vote discussion drafts outlining the Rural Development title as well as the peanut and sugar programs. The Subcommittee also adopted three amendments by voice vote. The current sugar program would be extended until 2012, including the non-recourse loan program and the authority for marketing allotments. The draft requires that program at no cost to the Federal government by avoiding forfeitures of sugar. "The Subcommittee held a productive and thoughtful discussion about some important topics that will be a part of the 2007 Farm Bill," said Chairman McIntyre. "The work of this Subcommittee will ensure the delivery of essential rural development programs that will strengthen our nation's rural communities and will support important programs for peanuts and sugar." "A strong sugar program in the Farm Bill translates into food security for Americans and a positive future for Colorado-grown sugar," said Subcommittee Ranking Member Marilyn Musgrave of Colorado. "I am pleased that the subcommittee approved and forwarded the sugar program to the full House Agriculture Committee, without weakening amendments. America's no-cost sugar program has served us well, and I look forward to continuing my work on behalf of Colorado sugarbeet producers." Copies of the discussion draft, a section-by-section analysis of the provisions, and amendments approved by the Subcommittee are all available online at the Committee's Farm Bill Homepage at